I do not remember all-nighters being so energy consuming. When I was an undergraduate, I would pull a few all-nighters a week in order to complete all my assignments. It sucked, but I managed. Now, as an almost 30-year-old adult, it seems harder. I need my daily recommended seven to nine hours of sleep. I do not do many of things I used to. When I was between the ages of 18 to 25, I used to drink coffee at all times of the day, sleep less than seven hours, walk alone in the dark, with no protection and many times put myself in dangerous situations. Looking back at the decisions I have made, I was lucky to escape many dangerous circumstances. You live and you learn.

Now, in a graduate program, I try to take care of myself as much as possible, mentally, physically and emotionally. It is a very, very, very hard balance to keep, and I cannot say I am succeeding, but it is what I am striving for. Am I going to pig out on junk food once in a while? Sure. But it is no longer my norm. It is hard, but I really do want a balance life. I try not to be so hard on myself though, there will be times when one aspect of my life will take up more space, but that is OK. That time will pass and I can go back to what makes me feel balanced. For tonight, I will have to suck it up with the all-nighter.

 

 

