image

My undergraduate friend always likes to joke with my about knowing everything because I am a graduate student. This is not true, of course. Yet many at my level of education would like to think so.

Sometimes I find myself being annoyed by being corrected by other people. This type of attitude only harms us because we close ourselves from improvement.

One of my professor suggested to the class to review our grammar books because we were making silly mistakes in our writing. Even though we may think we are awesome writers in this stage of our education, we must admit that we in fact do not know everything and revisiting that grammar book is not a bad idea. When I read one of my reference books I realized how much I have forgotten, and how great a refresher that book was. Most recently good.is also suggested grammar.quickanddirtytips.com as a tool for improving grammar.

So please let’s remind ourselves to leave arrogance behind, because it does not pair well with education.

